Sonya Strickland, LCSW

Psychotherapy with Children, Adolescents, & Adults

Pronouns: She, Her, Hers

I am a Biracial-Black woman from Eugene, Oregon. In 1989, I moved to Portland to attend college and have been living and working here ever since. I attended Portland State University and hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology (the study of groups of people) and a Minor in Urban Studies and Planning (the study of city planning and its impact on communities). I also hold a Master’s Degree in Social Work, with an emphasis on the underserved Black and Biracial community. Post graduate school, I completed a 2-year clinical training requirement through the Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers, and became a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) in 2005. I have 22 years of social work experience in the areas of the child welfare system, school social work, batterer’s intervention, hands-on parent education and individual therapy with youth and adults. 

Since I was a child, people have naturally gravitated toward me when they need to work through their emotion-based struggles. Through these experiences I came to realize that I’m innately empathetic and innately fulfilled by helping people in this capacity. I genuinely enjoy getting to know my clients and collaborating with them to improve their overall mental health and quality of life, determine their short and long-term goals and create a dynamic plan to work toward reaching them. My lifelong passion for helping people, combined with my education, clinical training, work and lived-experience as a Biracial-Black woman have uniquely prepared me to be an effective therapist for a wide range of folks.

My theoretical orientation is anti-racist, feminist, mind-body connected, social justice, strengths-based and trauma-informed. I have experience working with youth and adults to address anxiety, ADHD, cultural oppression, depression, domestic violence (survivors and perpetrators), poverty, etc. In doing this I utilize a variety of approaches to guide our collaborative process, including cognitive-behavioral, culturally-sensitive, holistic, humanistic, relational and mindfulness-based theories. 

When I’m not working, I enjoy spending time with my husband of 18 years and our blended family, including my son, two stepsons and a stepdaughter, all aged 21-25. I also have 3 year old identical twin grandsons, whom I adore! I love learning new things, being in nature, yoga, meditation, coloring and spending time with friends and family.

Insurance Plans Accepted

Aetna

Blue Cross Blue Shield

Cigna

First Choice Health Network

Kaiser

Moda Health

PacificSource

Providence PPO